Eurofins Consumer Product Testing China >> Certification >> E-Mark


Sidebar Image

According to the European Economic Commission regulations and the provisions of EU directives, in order to enter the European market, cars, motorcycles and a variety of components and systems must be certified to meet the basic requirements of traffic safety and environmental protection. E-Mark and e-Mark are the European conformity marks issued by the transport sector, indicating that these products

comply with relevant laws and regulations or directives. Vehicles and related products need the E-Mark or e-Mark certification to be legally sold in Europe.

In Europe, a vehicle certification system consists of the following three parts:

  • EU certification (referred to as EC): the e-Mark, to certify products in accordance with the requirements of EC Directives
  • Certification of Economic Commission for Europe (referred to as ECE, United Nations agency): the E-Mark, to certify products in accordance with ECE regulations
  • National Certification

1. EU certification (referred to as EC), the e-Mark
The e-Mark is based on an EU Directive and is a safety certification mark which the European Commission requires for member states to have on motor vehicle, parts and systems. Testing organizations must be a technical service organization of  an EU member, and the issuing institution must be a government transport sector of the EU member. Products certified by e-Mark will be recognized by all EU member states.
The e-Mark logo is in a rectangular frame for vehicles whether moving or stationery, and is for auto products in these vehicles, such as: car charger, car lamp / flashlight, car air pump, car massage / heating cushions, car fans, car kettles, car refrigerator, car coffee maker, in-car TV / stereo, electric car jack, car cleaners, car power tools and so on.

Each EU member state has its own e-Mark certificate:

e1- Germany  
e2- France  
e3- Italy   
e4- the Netherlands
e6- Belgium
e9- Spain
e11- Britain
e12- Austria
e13- Luxembourg
e17- Finland
e18- Denmark
e21- Portugal
e23- Greece

2. Certification of Economic Commission for Europe (referred to as ECE, United Nations agency), the E-Mark
The E-Mark is the regulation issued by the Economic Commission for Europe (referred to as ECE). There are currently 28 EU countries in ECE, in addition to EU member countries, including Eastern European, Southern European and other non-European countries. ECE regulations apply to all members and are only recommended, not mandatory. Member States may conform to the ECE regulations, or continue to use their own regulations.

The E-Mark logo is in a circular frame, which means when a vehicle stop travel, these products must be used, for example: windshield, seat belts, headlights, and so on.

Each EU member state has its own of E-Mark certificate:

E1-Germany E2-France E3-Italy E4-the Netherlands E5-Sweden 
E6-Belgium E7-Hungary E8-Czech Republic E9-Spain E10-Yugoslavia  
E11-UK E12-Austria E13-Luxembourg E14-Switzerland E16-Norway 
E17-Finland E18-Denmark E19-Romania E20-Polish E21-Portugal
E22-Russia E23-Greece E25-Croatia E26-Slovenia E27-Slovakia
E28-Belarus E29-Estonia E31-Bosnia and Herzegovina E37-Turkey

3. National Certification
Specific requirements depending on the country and its products may be different. The European vehicle certification system is based on different European countries having reached a mutual recognition of certification bodies. All member states must publish its issuing authority, and provide the name and address of the authorized testing agency. EC system and ECE systems differ on the point whether member states should accept the issue of a statute. When an EC directive comes into effect, all states must accept any certificate issued by a member state. When a clause becomes ECE regulation, each member state has the right to decide whether to accept the rules or not, even after announcing the acceptance, a government can still change its mind and stop acceptance of the regulation. Member states need to inform the Secretary-General of ECE about the stop-decision, 12 months after the termination takes effect.